Forever Delayed - The Independent Manics Forum  

Go Back   Forever Delayed - The Independent Manics Forum > Manic Street Preachers > Manic Street Preachers Discussion

Old 30-01-2006, 12:51
I live to fall asleep

"All virgins are liars honey"

What does this lyrical quote mean to you? What do you think Richey meant?
Old 30-01-2006, 12:58
I live to fall asleep

Quote:
Originally Posted by estuary_girl
I think he meant that no one is really pure. And I don't like it.
Old 30-01-2006, 14:06
Doors slowly closing

Maybe it's to do with when women falsely tell men that 'it' is their first time to make it feel like more of a conquest for the male. Though this wouldn't necessarily work in the case of prostitutes, which the song is about.

Prostitute: This is my first time.

Punter: Really, how long have you been on the streets?

Prostitute: Three years

Punter: I see...

On the other hand, it could be the male claiming virginity, which is more likely.
Old 30-01-2006, 14:10
Winterlover

Hmmm. I've always assumed that he was quoting or paraphrasing the pimp - the "Everything's for sale" guy... ???
Old 30-01-2006, 15:01
I live to fall asleep

Quote:
Originally Posted by bornagirl76
I think he meant that no one is really pure. And I don't like it.
No I don't like it either, because not everyone is corrupted or out for themselves. I guess that illustrates a mentally ill person

But I know I sometimes feel very cynical about the human environment "there's nothing wrong with planet Earth it's just the [certain - / people (delete as applicable)] in it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Guernica
Hmmm. I've always assumed that he was quoting or paraphrasing the pimp - the "Everything's for sale" guy... ???
Yeah that would make sense too! Never actually considered that before

Quote:
Originally Posted by another invented username